BMW F850GS Forum

Please login or register.

News: A big welcome to all new members !


Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] [NO] [MY] Topic: Coding plug vagueness...  (Read 358 times)

swede and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline _20210407

  • GS Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: 00
Coding plug vagueness...
« on: April 05, 2021, 12:10:52 AM »
I'm looking to get the coding plug for my 2020 f850gsa for the rider modes (Only have Road and Rain atm) - But can't really find it locally.
No it's not under the seat or with the documentation, bikes here are sold without add-on stuff.

The local dealership wants a stupid sum for ordering it and getting it online seems impossible in Mexico...
Importing through ebay or something may work, but small packages often get 'lost' or held up in customs  :151:

I've seen discussions elsewhere about just bridging the thing with a paperclip basically, as that is what the plug seems to do.

Does that work for the f850 as well? Any experiences cheating the system a bit?

Offline Buck

  • GS Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Bike: F850GSA
  • Town / City: Oilsjt
  • Country: be
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2021, 07:56:17 AM »
I think you need 2 things:
- the plug or bridge
- the modification or enabling of the rider modes, can be done by the dealer.

I doubt that the plug on itself will enable extra modes.
Safe kilometers (miles) to everyone

Offline _20210407

  • GS Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: 00
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2021, 08:23:34 AM »
Hi buck, well, thats the sole function of the plug, plug it in, start the bike and its enabled.
Buuuut the uncertainty steps in with, if its just a dumb jumper/wireloop. Or do the newer models with tft have a new Ďsmarterí plug or some kind of resistor in it.
I could just try it, but i donít want to fry any systems.

Offline Buck

  • GS Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Bike: F850GSA
  • Town / City: Oilsjt
  • Country: be
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2021, 08:48:50 AM »
Try your luck then
Rider modes need to be enabled in the bikes software
Safe kilometers (miles) to everyone

Offline talh

  • GS Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Bike: F750GS
  • Town / City: San Jose, CA
  • Country: us
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2021, 07:45:18 AM »
I read somewhere (can't recall where) that it's just a jumper. Short the two contacts, and the new mods will pop up in the TFT.

Offline Buck

  • GS Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Bike: F850GSA
  • Town / City: Oilsjt
  • Country: be
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2021, 09:06:08 AM »
I have all rider modes from factory. We used my coding plug in a bike without the modes ordered.
Didnít work.
My guess is that next to the plug, modes are activated in the bikes software.

Also, the plug only enables enduro-pro, for the other modes (enduro, dynamic) you donít need the plug they are there on my bike.
Safe kilometers (miles) to everyone

Offline talh

  • GS Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Bike: F750GS
  • Town / City: San Jose, CA
  • Country: us
Re: Coding plug vagueness...
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 12:00:52 AM »
Sorry - I thought that's what we're talking about - adding the Pro modes.
Plugging the plug (or shorting the contacts) adds the two Pro modes. All the rest come from the factory.