Author The "Go To" Switched Live?  (Read 6575 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Online TimeVampire   au

    • GS Member  ‐    32
    • **
      #10

    Online TimeVampire

    • GS Member
    • **
    • Posts: 32
    • Town / City: Victoria
    • Country: au
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #10 on: Jan 19, 2021, 05.20 am
    Jan 19, 2021, 05.20 am
    If you are looking to hook into the harness with the connector under the right hand side of the dash, near the blinker, then this is the fitting I bought to do it:-

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000873971871.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4dNamm9d

    HTH

  • Offline B0M0A0K   gb

    • GS Pro  ‐    295
    • ***
      #11

    Offline B0M0A0K

    • GS Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 295
    • I have moved on from the world of BMW
    • Bike: Honda
    • Town / City: Tomsk
    • Country: gb
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #11 on: Jan 19, 2021, 01.58 pm
    Jan 19, 2021, 01.58 pm
    Another day, another go at this.

    I'm hoping that I now have the right GPS plug. This was in the place as outlined in the document direction posted yesterday and was indeed covered by a plastic cap.





    I am assuming that the pin on the left is the "1" - can't quite make that out as clearly as the "3",

    Last Edit: Jan 19, 2021, 02.04 pm by B0M0A0K

  • Offline B0M0A0K   gb

    • GS Pro  ‐    295
    • ***
      #12

    Offline B0M0A0K

    • GS Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 295
    • I have moved on from the world of BMW
    • Bike: Honda
    • Town / City: Tomsk
    • Country: gb
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #12 on: Jan 19, 2021, 03.28 pm
    Jan 19, 2021, 03.28 pm
    Just finished testing this. It works perfectly as a switched live as advertised. Thanks for all the advice and assistance. This source still has a 60 second lag to cut off and I was wondering if there were any switched lives on the F750GS that powered down immediately?

    This will do for what I had in mind (powering a GPS and aux LED running lights) and I am waiting for the corresponding plug to arrive. It's a semi-permanent workaround to my dead ezCAN II which is currently on it's way back to Nippy Normans for a replacement, but I have no idea how long that will take before the new one appears. I have to say that I have been pretty unimpressed with NN's communication on this. They seemed less than happy to have to replace the ezCANII unit, even after I provided all the HEX Innovations ticket conversation as well as HEX Innovation's instruction to return it to NN's.


  • Offline Wheelriding   gb

    • GS Member  ‐    13
    • **
      #13

    Offline Wheelriding

    • GS Member
    • **
    • Posts: 13
    • Bike: F850GSA
    • Town / City: Huddersfield
    • Country: gb
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #13 on: Sep 12, 2021, 01.04 pm
    Sep 12, 2021, 01.04 pm


    This looks to be an option. Has anyone tried it?

  • Offline B0M0A0K   gb

    • GS Pro  ‐    295
    • ***
      #14

    Offline B0M0A0K

    • GS Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 295
    • I have moved on from the world of BMW
    • Bike: Honda
    • Town / City: Tomsk
    • Country: gb
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #14 on: Sep 13, 2021, 08.40 pm
    Sep 13, 2021, 08.40 pm
    I've seen this, but in the end I used the number plate live wire.

  • Offline Ribeye   us

    • GS Member  ‐    10
    • **
      #15

    Offline Ribeye

    • GS Member
    • **
    • Posts: 10
    • Bike: F850GS
    • Town / City: Long Island
    • Country: us
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #15 on: Jun 10, 2022, 12.33 pm
    Jun 10, 2022, 12.33 pm
    I know this thread is old, but needed to say thanks, because this post helped me;

    *Originally Posted by TimeVampire [+]
    If you are looking to hook into the harness with the connector under the right hand side of the dash, near the blinker, then this is the fitting I bought to do it:-

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000873971871.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4dNamm9d

    HTH

    I was trying to remove the plug, and could not figure it out. I searched this site for someone to say how to remove it, I watched youtubers gloss over the removal. The pic of the connector on aliexpress showed the latch, that my tired old eyes  could not see. So, Thanks TimeVampire

  • Online TimeVampire   au

    • GS Member  ‐    32
    • **
      #16

    Online TimeVampire

    • GS Member
    • **
    • Posts: 32
    • Town / City: Victoria
    • Country: au
    Re: The "Go To" Switched Live?
    Reply #16 on: Jun 11, 2022, 09.10 am
    Jun 11, 2022, 09.10 am
    *Originally Posted by Ribeye [+]
    , Thanks TimeVampire

    Your welcome.  It's always interesting to see what people take away from any given piece of data  :821: